Karamuk Kuo was established in 2010 by Jeannette Kuo and Ünal Karamuk who bring their international background and diverse building experiences to their design process. Foregrounding the relationship of space and program, each project is approached with the optimism that architecture is the translation of fresh ideas into reality.

The office works on projects of a range of scales—from spatial installations and exhibitions to complex institutional projects—and is always looking for new creative opportunities. In addition, both partners are committed to intellectual pursuits in design research and have been teaching since 2006 at various universities in the U.S. and Switzerland. Recent awards include a double recognition for BestArchitects 19, a LafargeHolcim Awards Acknowledgement prize and a nomination for the Iakov Chernikov Prize recognizing promising young architects.


Ünal Karamuk

Ünal Karamuk studied architecture at the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zurich. In 2002, he studied for an exchange semester at Harvard Graduate School of Design before returning to complete his diploma at the ETH with Professor Christian Kerez. Until 2008 he worked at the New York offices of Skidmore Owings and Merrill (SOM), REX Architecture, and Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA). From 2009 to 2012, he taught at the ETH Zurich Chair of Christian Kerez.

Jeannette Kuo

Jeannette Kuo received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Architecture at U.C.Berkeley (1999), her Master of Architecture with Distinction at Harvard University (2004), and her Master of Advanced Studies at ETH Zurich (2010). After working for Barkow Leibinger Architects in Berlin and Architecture Research Office in New York, she started teaching in 2006 with the Maybeck Teaching Fellowship at UC Berkeley and went on to teach at MIT (2007—2009) and at the EPFL Lausanne (2011—2014). Since 2016, she is Assistant Professor in Practice at Harvard Graduate School of Design.

Team members:

Pawel Bejm
Gilbert Berthold
Arnaud Bostelmann
Sandra Fink
Anna Fritz
Stefan Jos
Tony Hu
Ünal Karamuk
Jeannette Kuo
Eric Palau
Andreas Papadantonakis
Domenic Schmid

Past members:

Catarina Bello, Luc Carpinelli, Christos Chontos, Adrien Comte, Noé Cuendet, Samuel Dautheville, Rama Elias, Daniel Gerber, Stefanie Girsberger, Marianna Gonzales, Philippe Grossenbacher, Nina Haftka, Linda Hatava, Carla Häni, Brian Jordan, Gia Jung, Philipp Klostermann, Jens Knöpfel, Markus Krieger, Alexander Lebet, Philipp Macke, Karl Naraghi, Alessandra Ortelli, Veronica Pizzi, Zofia Roguska, Nicola Schürch, Michael Stirnemann, Flavia Sutter, Konstantinos Tzioras, Christoph Zingg


There are currently no open positions in our office.


The Architectural Review (03/2019)

werk, bauen + wohnen (11/2018)

Casabella 890 (10/2018)

El Croquis 196 [I] ( 2018)

Metropolis (7/2018)

Hochparterre (5/2018)

Sonntagszeitung (May 6th, 2018)

A+U 570 (3/2018)

Make New History, published by Lars Müller Publishers (2017)

Wallpaper (9/2017)

Grundrissfibel – Museumsbauten, published by Edition Hochparterre (2017)

Architekturpädagogiken – 5×2 Gespräche, published by Park Books (2017)

Schweizweit, published by Christoph Merian Verlag (2016)

hochparterre wettbewerbe (1/2016)

hochparterre wettbewerbe (2/2015)

Space of Production, published by Park Books (2015)

Constructing Space, published by Practica Arquitectonica (2015)

Constructing Logics, published by a+t (2014)

architektur + technik (1/2014)

Tec21 (36/2014)

hochparterre wettbewerbe (4/2014)

Tec21 (16/2014)

Wettbewerbe Aktuell (9/2014)

werk, bauen + wohnen (3/2014)

archithese (1/2014)

hochparterre wettbewerbe (1/2014)

A-Typical Plan, published by Park Books (2013)

Best Of . EPFL, published by Archizoom (2013)

hochparterre wettbewerbe (5/2013)

hochparterre wettbewerbe (3/2013)

Hochparterre (3/2013)

hochparterre wettbewerbe (5/2010)

Bauwelt (45/2009)

Load more publications


– Best Architects 19 – Weiden Secondary School & Gym
– Best Architects 19 – International Sports Sciences Institute, University of Lausanne
– LafargeHolcim Foundation Award Acknowledgement prize 2017 Europe.
– Nominated for the Iakov Chernikhov Prize 2014


+41 44 533 0820
Badenerstrasse 370
8004 Zurich


This website and its content is copyright of Karamuk Kuo. Any redistribution or reproduction of part or all of the contents in any form is prohibited. You may not, except with our express written permission, distribute or commercially exploit the content. Nor may you transmit it or store it in any other website or other form of electronic retrieval system without the prior written permission of Karamuk Kuo.

Programming and Design: PIN (Samuel Bänziger, Olivier Hug)
Font: Unica 77 and Next Mono

Photography:  Angelika Annen / Laurian Ghinitoiu / José Hevia / Mikael Olsson

You are trying to access this
website with an unsupported browser.
Please update your browser.